The International Volcano Monitoring Fund (IVM-Fund) is a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that was incorporated in the state of Washington (USA) on December 31, 2007.

President and CEO

Dr. Jeff Witter is the founder of the IVM-Fund and serves as President and CEO. Jeff’s understanding of the importance of volcano monitoring materialized during a year-long trip around the Pacific Ring-of-Fire in 1992-93. Sponsored by the Thomas J. Watson Foundation, Jeff explored active volcanoes in eight different countries and met the scientists who monitor them. The take-home message he learned is that the technology to effectively monitor volcanoes exists, but more often than not, the money does not. Following this formative experience, Jeff spent the next ten years studying volcanoes and volcano monitoring around the world while obtaining Master’s and Ph.D. degrees in volcanology.

Board Member

Dr. Glyn Williams-Jones serves on the Board of Directors for the IVM-Fund. Glyn is an Associate Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences, Simon Fraser University, Canada (www.sfu.ca/~glynwj/) and has spent over 15 years studying active volcanoes in the Americas, Hawaii, Europe and Southeast Asia. He has become an expert on volcano degassing and subsurface volcano plumbing systems. He currently integrates the study of geophysical signatures with geochemical and remote sensing data to investigate precursory signals to volcanic activity and the mechanisms that trigger eruptions. In order to accomplish this, Glyn uses a wide variety of geophysical and geochemical instruments and techniques (e.g., gravity, differential GPS, volcanic gas concentrations and flux, satellite remote sensing) to monitor volcanoes. He is particularly interested in the hazards and impact of persistently degassing volcanoes on local populations and the environment.

Board Member

Amanda Witter serves on the Board of Directors and is also the secretary of the IVM-Fund. Amanda received a Master’s degree in Public Health from Cambridge University, England and has over ten years experience in the field of health care. She brings expert organizational skills as well as a fresh perspective to the IVM-Fund. She has helped us appreciate that volcanic eruptions near populated areas can be considered a public health problem.

Board Member

Dr. Nathalie Vigouroux serves on the Board of Directors for the IVM-Fund. Nathalie is a Faculty Member in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Douglas College in Vancouver, Canada. She has spent over 10 years studying active volcanoes in the Indian Ocean, the Americas and Southeast Asia. Nathalie specializes in igneous petrology and geochemistry; everything from the recycling of elements by fluids and melts in subduction zones, to degassing of magmas upon ascent through the crust and characterization of fluid geochemistry in hydrothermal/geothermal systems. These tools allow her to better understand magma evolution processes and interpret surface expressions of volcanic activity (e.g., hot springs, fumaroles), both important for the monitoring of active volcanoes. She has experience working with volcano observatories in Mexico and Reunion Island and is keen to help local scientists gain the tools and knowledge available to help in their monitoring efforts.

Incorporation as a non-profit in the U.S.

The IVM-Fund was incorporated in the state of Washington (USA) on December 31, 2007. Click here to see the IVM-Fund’s Certificate of Incorporation as a non-profit in Washington State.

In accordance with Chapter 24.03 RCW of the Washington State non-profit corporation act and as stipulated in the IVM-Fund’s Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws, the organization incorporated in Washington State has a Board of Directors that consists of one individual. This individual is Jeff Witter. The secretary of the IVM-Fund is Amanda Witter.

Registration as an Extraprovincial Society in B.C.

The IVM-Fund has also been registered as an Extraprovincial Society, under the Society Act, in British Columbia, Canada on February 22, 2010. Click here to see the IVM-Fund’s Certificate of Registration as a BC Extraprovincial Society.

This British Columbia branch of the IVM-Fund has a five-member Board of Directors in accordance with the regulations for Extraprovincial Societies described in the BC Society Act. The five members of the BC Board of Directors of the IVM-Fund are: Jeff Witter, Amanda Witter, Glyn Williams-Jones, Dave Tucker, and Malaika Ulmi (inactive).


Tax-exemption in the U.S. under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code was granted to the IVM-Fund on May 30, 2008. Click here to see the approval letter from the Internal Revenue Service.